Not another protest

The protest for social justice, equality, and secularism. 2-26-2012

The following call for action and critique was influenced by reactions from people who were planning to attend the protest that took place today.

It all started boiling in my head after hip-hop artist, el-Rass (the Head), performed at the fundraising party. As usual el-Rass’ words were bold and sharp. After the show I heard some people reacting to the lyrics and there was a consensus that el-Rassel is too courageous, that he dares to say it as it is and address major issues.  Some were intimidated by the lyrics, others thought it was kool; as a result my head reacted and I began to reflect on our situation here in Lebanon. Our much needed revolution, tangible, so far, through a handful of peaceful protests.

We need to stop and reflect upon our egoistic interests. I don’t see any other solution but taking action, a violent action for change thus a revolution (please, don’t go buy a gun, keep reading).

I don’t just want to go to a protest every once in a while and feel good about myself on the weekend, thinking I just did my part. On Monday everything is always the same. In Lebanon the peaceful marching and chanting has proved to be ineffective. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not (yet) calling for arms. Violence has many forms: take for example the violence we receive every day from the state in the form of poverty, social inequalities and the corrupt state itself. Ultimately these are the reasons we have been protesting and calling for change. The everyday state violence should be faced with violence.

It’s about time; we should not waste more time discussing it.

I have been protesting for a while, always the same people throughout the years at every single protest. My frustration right now while writing this cannot be healed with a dose of adrenalin at the protest on the weekend. What about the rest of the people, outside the narrow, divided leftist circles? The rest of the people in this country who never come to our soft “leftist” protests have their own non-peaceful protesting. Sporadically and loosely the rest of the country have been protesting and they always demonstrate with violence: blocking streets and at times clashing with the police (or in my dictionary the forces that only protect the rich). We need to unite with those protesters and come together beyond our ideologies. I’m calling for the shock to awaken the collective Lebanese conscious. We, the youth of 2012, have numerous tools at our disposal.

Do we have the courage to step out of our routine marching?

I will still go to the protests but from now on I want to see the protests evolving to action beyond the marching and chanting on the weekends. We live in high times, there is a race by every party to capture the world. We need to start investing fast in these times. The counter-revolution is already advancing and shaping circumstances as it wishes.

Fear is something that we cannot afford. We mustn’t keep carrying fear as a burden. Sacrifice is the psychological condition we need to push. There should and will be sacrifices for the grand change we dream of. I don’t want to be my parents’ generation because of their malpractices we are revolting. I want to be us, the fresh 2012 vision, the youth, the new vision, and the evolution of our parents.

I sensed fear mixed with hesitation the other night in people’s faces after they listened calmly to the lyrics of artist el-Rass. It hit me hard the fact that the revolutionary audience  were intimidated by a song. Walking back home after the show, I kept thinking that if we keep the scope our revolutionary act to simply a peaceful march on the weekends the revolution will never shine.  The time has come to take our struggle to the next level, time to get mad.

The dysfunctional Lebanese Electricity company.
The protest for social justice, equality, and secularism. 2-26-2012
"We are the secular people". A better slogan to start our revolution with would be: "We are the oppressed people against the politics of the rich".

 

2 thoughts on “Not another protest

Leave a Reply

